Semester Report

RonPaulCurriculum 8th Grade English Essay

So for English I have to write a semester report of all the things I learned, read, and did. I learned a lot during the first half of this course including how to write good paragraphs, essays, reports, research papers, etc.

The first book I started out with was 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, it’s about an underwater sea adventure. The main characters Professor Aronnax, his servant Counseil, and Ned Land, get kidnapped by Captain Nemo. They all go on an adventure with him in his submarine the Nautilus. This book was a fine book by Jules Verne, it’s not my favorite, but it’s a fun adventurous book.

Then I read the Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. This book was during the French Revolution, it was about the father finding his daughter. Who thought he was dead, and it’s also about the daughter and who she marries, etc.

The next book I read was Out on the Pampas by G.A. Henty, this one I enjoyed a bit more. It’s about a family with two girls and two boys moving to Argentina to live on the pampas. They go through a lot of things, including almost losing a daughter, and I liked this book.

Now while reading these books, I learned how to write a mind map. Where you have one topic in a bubble and you make sub-topics coming out of the one topic. Then I learned to put your mind map into an outline, so it’s easier to write your essay.

I first started with easy questions like, “best birthday gift”, “a bad day”, “yourself”, or “your house”. Then I learned the font uses, like bold, italic, and underlining. Afterwards, I wrote essays with a little harder questions like, “Do we value only what we struggle for”, Is it always essential to tell the truth, or are there circumstances in which it is better to lie?”, etc.

Then after I read Out on the Pampas, I started to read Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy. This book is also around the time of the French Revolution, it’s about a man who calls himself the Scarlet Pimpernel, and no knows who he is, not even his wife. But the story goes on, he saves people who get sentenced, and it’s very interesting.

Later I had to write essays under time, usually between 30mins-1hr, it was a bit challenging, but not too bad. Then I learned how to write book report, research papers, and book reviews.

My first research paper I wrote was about the Monarch butterflies. This one was interesting, I learned a lot myself, I’m not a butterfly gal, so I didn’t know much, but that’s what research papers are for.

I also read With Clive in India by G.A. Henty, it’s literally about a boy traveling with Clive in India. A boy, goes to india and travels with the military, and the general is called, Clive. They go through a lot of adventures, and fight with Indian tribes.

The next book was by Harriet Beecher Stowe, Uncle Tom’s Cabin. This book was actually was written as a series on the newspaper, and then was published as a book. It’s about Tom, a slave, who was sold to Simon Legree, who was very harsh to his slaves. But Tom never given up in faith.

After that I read Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. It’s about the second eldest daughter Elizabeth(Lizzy), her older sister Jane, and two younger sisters Kitty(Catherine) and Lydia. The story follows Elizabeth’s experience in love with Mr. Darcy, and his best friend Mr. Bingley who falls in love with Jane. This one was more of a romantic story, but with pride and prejudice.

That’s basically most of the things I did and learnt in this English course. I learned writing mind maps, writing book reports, writing down references, etc. I really liked this course so far, and hope to learn more in the future.

Leave a Reply

