RPC History Week 36 7/14/15

Today I will summarize all the RonPaulCurriculum essays and I will explain what I liked and disliked.

First I learned about how God created the world in seven days:

Day 1: Division of Day and Night

Day 2: Separation of Heavens and Earth

Day 3: Separation of Seas and Land

Day 4: Creation of Sun, Moon, and Stars

Day 5: Creation of Fish and Birds

Day 6: Creation of Land Animals and Man

Day 7: God rested

Then I learned about Adam and Eve and about the Forbidden Fruit. Then I learned about the time of The Tower of Babel, Noah and the Ark, Mesopotamia, the Eastern Mediterranean, and Ancient Africa.

After Ancient Africa,  I learned about Ancient Europe and Ancient China and little bit about ancient Japan and Korea.

Before any dynasties China was just farming community until the Xia Dynasties came in (2100-1726 BC) and they did not leave any records, so we do not know much about them. Then I studied about the Shang Dynasties (1726-1122 BC), they had organized cities, craft workers, and feudal system. They had a cruel line of kings, that led to slave revolt.

Afterwards the Zhou Dynasties (~900 years) had 200 small states battled. Finally there was the Qin Dynasties(15 years), the Qin Dynastiey was ruled by Shi Huangdi, he was an extreme dictator, he had a strong central government, he moved all noble to the capital city to stop rebellions, and he also improved travel. He was also known for brutal slavery/forced labor, he burned books and killed scholars, and made the Great Wall of China(1400 miles long), Shi was buried in an enormous tomb filled with thousands of terracotta army to protect him.

Japan and Korea were not as advance as China, they started as hunters with wild game and a lot of fish, they were very agricultural people, and they grew rice and barley.

Afterwards I studied about North America, and the people who lived there long before we did, then I learned about Australia.

After that, I learned about the Olmecs, Mayans, and the Nazca people. The Olmecs had three major religious centers, San Lorenze, La Vente, and Tres Zapatos. Every temple they built was like the Pyramid of the Sun. In the temple were animal like idols which they worshiped. They used hieroglyphs for writing, but unlike Egypt, each glyphs is a syllable. They also traded obsidian, basalt, and jade.

The Maya people worshiped nature like the sun or moon. They had four major cities, Palenque, Tikal, Copan, and Chichen Itza. They had independent cities states, and warlike people often request tribute from their enemies. Mayan artists carved stones, made pottery, and wall paintings. Mathematicians and astronomers made unbelievably accurate calendars and star charts.

Next I learned about the Chavins. The Chavins was founded by Chavin de Huantar and named it after himself. The Chavins grew maize, peppers, beans, sweet potato, and hunted game or they fished.

Another tribe of South America was the Nazca. The Nazca drew enormous images like these:

These are some of the Nazca lines. To see this you will have to be on a helicopter or somewhere above the lines. The Nazca people also made textiles and pottery.

The last South American tribe I will be talking about is the Moche tribe. They made splendid adobe temples. They irrigated desert for crops and expanded their territory by military conquest.

Next, I learned about Judea and their good and bad kings of Israel and Judah. Then I studied about ancient Egypt, their pharaohs, their culture, and about Moses and the Ten Commandments. This topic of Ancient Egypt was one of my favorites.

After that, I learned about the Iliad, Odyssey, and the Aeneid. Then another of my favorite topic is about Greece, I liked to learn about their culture, all their famous philosophers, mathematicians, and their scientists. I also like the part when I learned about the differences of Athens and Sparta. Athens is more about culture and family, but Sparta is more warlike people, everybody belongs to the military.

Then, I learned about Persia and their kings, and the Peloponnesian War.

Afterwards, I learned about the founding of Carthage, the Punic Wars with Rome, and the fall of Carthage.

Finally, my favorite part was about the founding of Rome by Romulus and how he fought against his brother Remus. Also I learned about Rome’s economy, architecture, houses, and daily life in Rome. Then I learned about Roman food, entertainment, clothing, medicine, and farming/mining.

Afterwards, I learned about the Crisis of the 3rd Century, the split of the empire by Diocletian.

Then I studied about church fathers: Ignatius, Polycarp, Clement, Origen, Clement of Alexandria, Irenaeus, Tertullian, Athanasius, Ambrose, Jerome, and Augustine.

After that, I studied the fall of the Western Roman Empire by the Visigoths and learned that the Eastern Roman Empire survived another thousands of years, until it fell to the Ottoman Turks.

Leave a Reply

